Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Got my BIAB setup, need advice !! (plug in wire gets hot)

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2012, 09:56 PM   #1
Ingvaroo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Akureyri, IS
Posts: 79
Default Got my BIAB setup, need advice !! (plug in wire gets hot)

Hey guys, i didnt find anything on google so here it goes



First time i plugged in my new brew pot with 2x2200w elements, the plug in wire got so hot it melted, i figured out later it was a cheap wire that obviously couldnt hold the power.

However, when connecting a standart PSU cable (PC power cable) it doesnt melt but it gets hot after a while, is that normal ?

Im no expert and to be honest never paid attention if wires in general got hot, after the first one melted (the thin, cheap one) im to paranoied to try for a longer time, but i've mananged to get the water boiling at 5L mark
Any advice guys ?
Is it normal for the wires to get hot ?

__________________

Beer Beer Beer !

Ingvaroo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2012, 10:02 PM   #2
Draken
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Matthews, NC
Posts: 415
Liked 18 Times on 16 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingvaroo
Hey guys, i didnt find anything on google so here it goes

First time i plugged in my new brew pot with 2x2200w elements, the plug in wire got so hot it melted, i figured out later it was a cheap wire that obviously couldnt hold the power.

However, when connecting a standart PSU cable (PC power cable) it doesnt melt but it gets hot after a while, is that normal ?

Im no expert and to be honest never paid attention if wires in general got hot, after the first one melted (the thin, cheap one) im to paranoied to try for a longer time, but i've mananged to get the water boiling at 5L mark
Any advice guys ?
Is it normal for the wires to get hot ?
Ummm with that much wattage your really need a 240v outlet. Standard 120 won't push enough power for that size heating element.
__________________
Draken is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2012, 10:03 PM   #3
Ingvaroo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Akureyri, IS
Posts: 79
Default

Im in Iceland, all outlets are 240v (or 220v? either one)

__________________

Beer Beer Beer !

Ingvaroo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2012, 10:05 PM   #4
Draken
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Matthews, NC
Posts: 415
Liked 18 Times on 16 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingvaroo
Im in Iceland, all outlets are 240v
Nice! Ok in that case ignore my previous comment and get the biggest thickest plug you can. Most computer PSUs don't pull down the juice that a heating element of that size will bigger is better.
__________________
Draken is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2012, 10:13 PM   #5
Ingvaroo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Akureyri, IS
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Draken View Post
Nice! Ok in that case ignore my previous comment and get the biggest thickest plug you can. Most computer PSUs don't pull down the juice that a heating element of that size will bigger is better.
Yeah some recommend a wire that is 1.5q and all i could find was 1.0q and that one gets a bit hot, just lukewarm, am i being paranoid ?
__________________

Beer Beer Beer !

Ingvaroo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2012, 11:10 PM   #6
Ingvaroo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Akureyri, IS
Posts: 79
Default

Anyone that can help ?

__________________

Beer Beer Beer !

Ingvaroo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2012, 12:32 AM   #7
wolfman_48442
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fraser, MI
Posts: 531
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

So you are powering both elements from 1 power wire?
If that is the case, you need to be able to safely account for 4500 watts of power, which at 240 is 19 amps or so.
This puts you at 9 AWG, which is a 3mm wire diameter (for EACH conductor).
I don't know about Iceland, but here in the US, 9 gauge wire is kind of rare, I'd size up to 8 gauge (which is 3.3mm diameter per conductor), or maybe even 6 gauge for additional safety.

That's a pretty big cable, but you're pushing a lot of juice. Better to be safe than sorry.

__________________
wolfman_48442 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2012, 12:45 AM   #8
Ingvaroo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Akureyri, IS
Posts: 79
Default

No im using 2 diffrent outlets for each element, i tested earlier now both elements on 10L water, got good boil, both wires got luke warm or so (little above) but that might be normal ?

__________________

Beer Beer Beer !

Ingvaroo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2012, 01:11 AM   #9
wolfman_48442
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fraser, MI
Posts: 531
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingvaroo View Post
No im using 2 diffrent outlets for each element, i tested earlier now both elements on 10L water, got good boil, both wires got luke warm or so (little above) but that might be normal ?
Ideally, they won't get warm at all. They might be a little too small. A minimum size would be 16 gauge wire, better would be 14 or 12 gauge.
__________________
wolfman_48442 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2012, 01:16 AM   #10
Ingvaroo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Akureyri, IS
Posts: 79
Default

Where do i see that number ? i only see 1.0q on them

Not to mention, that these are elements from a water heating kettle (for noodles and such) and i have one here at home, on the wire on that kettle it sais 0.75q
So the wires im using are bigger than from factory.

__________________

Beer Beer Beer !

Ingvaroo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BIAB advice UnrulyGentleman Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 6 04-11-2012 07:42 PM
New Brewing Setup, looking for a little advice Sippin37 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 2 02-06-2012 08:28 PM
Installing your plug. alpine_guy100 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 2 12-29-2011 11:55 PM
Carboy / plug issue. jfmaniac Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 11 07-11-2011 08:06 PM
Hop plug variability BlackBearForge Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 0 09-13-2010 04:05 PM