Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Good recipe to start out with?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2012, 08:10 PM   #1
dmcg1230
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Good recipe to start out with?

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to the whole process of homebrewing. I made one batch of IPA that I never got to see to completion (it was lost in a pretty nasty car accident), so I've gone through the boiling stage as well as done a little bit of fermentation monitoring (it was still in the primary though).

I'm looking for another good recipe to start out with. I wanted to try and do a wheat beer with an orange-y flavor, similar to a UFO white or Leinenkugel Sunset Wheat, but I'm wondering if this is a little to advanced.

Do any experienced brewer's have any input?

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-01-2012, 08:16 PM   #2
DrummerBoySeth
Recipes 

Liked 40 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 49

Do you brew extract or all-grain? I have a pretty good extract Saison recipe that sounds very close to what you are looking for. It has lots of wheat malt, and some orange peel. If you are comfortable with extract + steeping grains I can post it for you.

"Give a man a beer, and he will waste an hour. Teach a man to brew, and he will waste a lifetime!" Bill Owen

Old 10-01-2012, 08:21 PM   #3
DonMagee
Recipes 

Liked 35 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmcg1230 View Post
Hey guys, I'm pretty new to the whole process of homebrewing. I made one batch of IPA that I never got to see to completion (it was lost in a pretty nasty car accident), so I've gone through the boiling stage as well as done a little bit of fermentation monitoring (it was still in the primary though).