Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Good hoppy pilsner?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-04-2013, 06:21 AM   #1
catfishunter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Good hoppy pilsner?

Hey what's up! I'm looking for a good recipe for a hoppier style pilsner, maybe similar to a prima pils. Anyone know a good recipe? I'm fairly new at brewing, this would be my 7th batch. I've been doing extracts and partials only, but I want to make the jump to all grain in the near future. Anyway, any help would be great! Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2013, 06:42 PM   #2
unionrdr
Wannabe author
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2195 Times on 1911 Posts
Likes Given: 1641

Pilsners are as a rule,not very hoppy,but well balanced. There are some breweries that are doing IPL's though. Idia Pale Lagers. Seems to be the latest craze.

Old 05-04-2013, 07:03 PM   #3
kontrol
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Here we have a dry hopped pils and its fantastic. Dont stick the rules too much. Personally id follow a standard recipe and dry hop with 1oz of saaz to get a wondeful floral aroma.

Old 05-04-2013, 07:19 PM   #4
freisste
Recipes 

Liked 297 Times on 248 Posts

Just want to point out that pilsners are lagers. If you know that, ignore this post. If not, keep in mind that lagers require better fermentation temperature control.

What is it that you like about pilsners? Maybe the community can point you in the direction of something that would work for you.

And I agree with the previous post. Screw the "rules." Brew what you like the way you like it.

Old 05-04-2013, 07:58 PM   #5
unionrdr
Wannabe author

Recipes 

Weeell...anymore,I like to stick to the basic style parameters,but add my own little tweaks to make it unique. But the IPL thing is def intriguing...