Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Ginger Porter: OG at 1.440?! One Week Later Stuck at 1.040

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2010, 12:47 PM   #1
voicelex
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Ginger Porter: OG at 1.440?! One Week Later Stuck at 1.040

***Hello! This is my obligatory first post disclaimer!***

I'm new to brewing and just concocted my 3rd 5gal batch. It is supposed to be a ginger porter.

Ingredients:
1.5# Crystal 90L
#1 Coffee
.5# Chocolate
.5# Cara Munich I
6.6# Light LME
3# Dark DME
6oz Smashed Ginger Root
1¼ oz Perle hop pellets
¾ oz Saaz pellets
½ tsp Irish moss last 15 min of boil.
¾ oz Saaz pellets (aramatic hops)
5gal of water

I brewed using the method described in the recipe I based this porter off of (here) and cooled the wort.

At 60F I measured the OG and got 1.144! That is much higher than I've ever got before. There aren't clear directions on how to measure OG with the hydrometer outside of putting it in the cylinder and minding the temperature. The beer was not settled and VERY heavy in suspended particles. Using my rudimentary college physics knowledge I thought that shouldn't matter. The particles, if not dissolved, affect the volume of the liquid not the density.... right?

In any case... I pitched 2 packets (per recommendation of the store employee) of a yeast I can't recall right now, while I'm away from home. I then stored the soon-to-be beer in my room at probably 60F. I left to visit family for just over 54 hours and upon return noticed nothing but some condensation in my fermentation lock. I gave it a few more days, nothing! Opened up the beer to find that fermentation had occured already! There was foam residue lining the walls of the bucket about 4 inches from the top of the liquid. So, I measured TG and got, a still very high, 1.040.