Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Ginger Beer/Ale Attempt

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2010, 04:19 AM   #1
smh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts

Default Ginger Beer/Ale Attempt

Hi all,
So I'm new to this whole process and am not a stickler for recipes. I am a stickler for cleanliness, etc. so I'm not sloppy. I wanted to make an alcoholic ginger beer/ale (whatever), so followed this procedure:

Boiled ~4L spring water, added ~1Kg white sugar, 2 big roots of grated ginger (maybe 2 cups), 1/2 tsp yeast nutrient (because I have it) and 6 tsp of lemon juice. I let this sit until it reached ~70degrees C and immersed in a cold water bath to cool to 37degrees C. I added 1/4 packet of Wyeast Dry mead (4632) yeast, stirred well. All of this was strained through cheesecloth into a 4L milk jug (cleaned etc etc). I only have one airlock which is tending to my first mead, so I plugged the top of the bottle with sterilized cheese cloth.

Initial SG was 1.094.
This yeast can tolerate 18% ABV, so could end up being fairly potent if I understand this correctly.

All this for my question:
If I want this to be carbonated, when should I bottle? Should I let the fermentation finish completely? Or should I bottle at a specified SG to get the carbonation I desire? I plan on bottling this in old, cleaned 2L pop bottles.

Hopefully this starts some nice discussion. Look forward to replies.

S

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2010, 01:03 PM   #2
MarzBock
Recipes 

I don't think I'd call that a Beer or an Ale... Maybe Ginger Cider. That's a LOT of ginger for just 4L of water. I probably used the same amount for a 5gal batch.

check this recipe:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f76/ging...p-comp-141080/