Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Ghetto hard apple cider. . .what to expect.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2012, 06:11 AM   #1
KPSquared
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Ghetto hard apple cider. . .what to expect.

So, I'm totally new to the brewing world. I've been curious for a long time and have recently been gathering supplies to make my first beer.

In my excitement and impatience, I decided to throw together a prison style hard cider just to see what would happen.

So, 1 gallon of pure apple juice, 500 grams of white table sugar, and 1 pack of standard bread yeast. Mixed it all up in the apple juice container, built a ghetto airlock from a piece of pvc tubing shoved through a hole in the lid and then into a glass of water.

This has been happily bubbling away for about 2 weeks now. How long should I let this go on for? Should I rack to a secondary? Will it get clearer and will it be drinkable?

I expect it will be super dry. Any rough guess of alcohol content?

I don't have high hopes but if it doesn't totally suck, I would bottle it up.

Thoughts?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-22-2012, 06:55 AM   #2
Meatyboy
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

When I was a um... younger man (read; underaged) I did something pretty close to that, except with OJ. All I can tell you is... I hope apple juice works better than the OJ did. After about a month of fermenting, it was pretty well done. It did the job it was supposed to, that is, got me blithering drunk. However, the taste alone was enough to keep me from drinking again for oh, 6 years or so.

Old 05-22-2012, 07:27 AM   #3
brewingmeister
Recipes 

Liked 159 Times on 117 Posts