Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Full boil in a 5.5 gallon pot?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2009, 08:41 AM   #1
daveotero
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Full boil in a 5.5 gallon pot?

Alright, I'm still fairly new to all this (about to bottle my first batch and brew my 2nd and 3rd )

I'm planing a Stone IPA clone next and all the partial boil hop utilization issues between the increased gravity and dilution from top off is driving me nuts. What about attempting a 5 gallon boil with a little fermcap? I could keep another pot of water boiling at the same time and keep topping off every 15 min or so. What do you guys think?

I would love to go with a turkey fryer, but at this point it's not a possibility.

Last edited by daveotero; 06-06-2009 at 11:07 PM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2009, 09:22 AM   #2
Killer_Robot
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

With fermcap I can boil five gallons in a six gallon pot without any near risk of boilover, but at if I had a 5.5 I'd really feel I was cutting it close. I'd suggest going more with 4.5 gallons and then adding a little more if you're comfortable with the space you have.

Old 06-06-2009, 03:56 PM   #3
Indy418
Recipes 

If you really want a full boil, just make a smaller batch. I do 3 gal. AGs on my stovetop w/ a 5.2 gal. kettle.

Old 06-06-2009, 06:32 PM   #4
ArcaneXor
Recipes 

Liked 78 Times on 74 Posts
Likes Given: 15

I use a 22-qt stockpot that I fill to within an inch or so of the rim for my beers. Defoamer 105 (similar to Fermcap-S) makes sure that it won't boil over. You still have to keep an eye on it as the hot break develops and when you add hops.

You don't quite get 5 gallons in there, but it's pretty close (I end up with just under 4 gallons post-boil, with most trub left behind in the kettle). So you'll still need to top up a little bit, but the difference in hop utilization is fairly small.