HBT 2014 Big Giveaway - 4/10 Re-Draw Winners Posted!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Frozen Orange Juice????

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2011, 03:12 PM   #1
wg_one
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Frozen Orange Juice????

Hi everyone! So I'm pretty new to this, my first brew is conditioning in bottle right now, should be ready to try in about a week. I sampled it pre bottle and it was decent.

For my next batch I wanted to try to get creative. I have liked citrus flavored beers like Summer Shandy and Blue Moon, and I wanted to try one of my own. I have 6+ pounds of wheat extract, and about 6oz. of wheat malt for steeping grains. I was going to try adding some frozen orange juice to the mix somewhere in the process and I was thinking I'd add it to the boil...my cousin tried this with a pumpkin beer and he just added two cans of pumpkin puree from the grocery store to the boil and it turned out great!

Do you think this will work or do you suggest adding the OJ at another stage, like maybe directly to the primary? Oooorrrr...Do you suggest something totally different?

Thanks! Bill, Minnesota

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2011, 03:21 PM   #2
EoinMag
Recipes 

Liked 54 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 52

I'd wait until you learn the basics before getting all crazy and making some weird stuff.

Have you ever smelled fermenting orange juice? It smells like puke, it might work out.....but make a few beers first, normal stuff, then get all outlandish and ****.

You didn't say you didn't love me, when you were stretched out across my bed
You're drinkin' moonshine whisky and talking all outta your head.
Rory Gallagher - Pistol Slapper Blues (Trad)

Old 03-29-2011, 03:23 PM   #3
Arneba28

Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 6

No this will get bitter or add no flavor at all. add orange zest to the beer after you add your yeast.

Old 03-29-2011, 03:23 PM   #4
FensterBos