The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Forgot to put water in air lock! Doh!!!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2012, 08:11 AM   #1
samsdaddy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Forgot to put water in air lock! Doh!!!

Hi Beer Monsters,
I'm brand new to Home Brewing but very keen to learn more. I read lots of reviews on beer kits for newbies and one seemed to keep cropping up......I managed to lay my hands on some Woodforde's Wherry and mixed the kit up as per the instructions yesterday.
I looked at it today and noticed that I had completely forgotten to put some water/vodka in the airlock (lesson #1 Don't brew when you're in a rush to get to the pub) Anyway, I was wondering if this will have ruined the batch? Luckily I have another kit to start as a backup for the Christmas brew so I'm not overly concerned.
Your thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks, Wils

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2012, 08:16 AM   #2
ThePonchoKid
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Nah nothing's ruined. There's air in there until the active fermentation resultant co2 pushes it out, and by then the surface is probably covered with co2 gas. Top er up and you're good to go imo

Old 10-14-2012, 08:46 AM   #3
petey_c
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 36 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 1

You'll be fine. Put some alcohol in now. I use the cheapest vodka I can buy.

Old 10-14-2012, 09:18 AM   #4
samsdaddy
Recipes 

That's great news, thanks guys, I have already put water in my I shall swap it for vodka today. I'm starting the other batch tonight regardless. It's going to be a very merry Christmas! :-)

Old 10-14-2012, 01:08 PM   #5
christpuncher123
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by samsdaddy View Post
Hi Beer Monsters,