New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > fist 5 gal. batch, new questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2012, 03:49 PM   #1
ndtyank49
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default fist 5 gal. batch, new questions

Me and a buddy of mine made German Altbier, i must say the smell was amazing. I think it came out great but as a newbie i got some more questions for you guys.

1-After putting the hops in, some water evaporated an the water level went down, leaving the hops stuck on the side above the water level. I took a sanitized spoon, and got the hops off the side and back into the wort. Was i right to do that?

2-After siphoning the wort out of the pot into the fermenter you have to add water up to the 5 gallon mark. I poured the water in but that caused a lot of bubbles and added O2, is that ok? What should i do next time?

3-Does it matter how long it takes for the wort to cool? I do not have a wort chiller so i put the pot in my bathtub filled with ice water.

4-Are Heineken bottles ok to use to bottle, i'm going to try to get darker ones though.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2012, 03:56 PM   #2
hungry4hops
Hop to it!
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 5 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 73 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 179

1-yup
2-make as much bubbles as possible o2 is good!
3-a little youll be fine!
4-yes but keep them away from sunlight
your right on track let us know how it turns out!

Old 11-10-2012, 03:56 PM   #3
unionrdr
Gotta home brew jones
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 1662 Times on 1467 Posts
Likes Given: 1138

1) Yeah,that's just fine. I do that.
2) You want good aeration at that point to give the yeast a good environment to propogate before visible fermentation begins.
3) Chilling the wort in 20 minutes or less gives little or no chill haze at fridge time.