New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > First run at an IPA Recipe, looking for feedback

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2010, 11:40 AM   #1
Soulfeather
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default First run at an IPA Recipe, looking for feedback

Hello all, I am a homebrew newb, but am already hooked by the craft. I recently came up on a free homebrew kit. Glass carboy, stainless steel pot, Papazian's Homebrew Book and most of the supplies that come w/ a standard kit. I read the book cover to cover (twice) before attempting my 1st recipe. I frequent a Brewery that is also a HB store. Last Friday I headed over there, book in hand and the owner set me up w/ an IPA recipe. It was a malt extraxt and partial grain recipe. I pre-boiled the grain in a brew bag, and just before boiling I pulled the bag and added the extract and 1st round of hops. After 50 mins I added the finishing hops, reduced heat and pulled the wort at 60 mins. I had 3 gallons of ice cold water poured in my carboy and w/ a strainer and a funnel, I proceeded to add the wort. I then took a temp and hydrometer reading.(1.043) I pitched the yeast(Wyeast in ale) and attached the feremetation lock. I moved the carboy into my garage and left it alone. I went to an xmas party and when I came home that night, activity was already evident. Over the next 3 days, things were churning and looking great. It has been 5 days and things are starting to settle and clear. The beginners section in Papazian's book states I should bottle between 8-14 days. From what I have read here, I should rack it and possibly run a dry hop sequence. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 11:48 AM   #2
trevorc13
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 4