Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > First "real" brew, Irish red ale.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2012, 07:28 PM   #11
1KD1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

My first 5 gal batch was an Irish red kit from home brew pro shoppe.

I racked to secondary after 2 weeks 5 days. (needed primary for next batch)

I bottled 1.5 weeks after that.

I tasted this past Saturday (2 weeks later) and wasn't impressed. Hopefully more time in the bottle will fix it.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2012, 07:31 PM   #12
Doctor_Wily
Recipes 

Liked 31 Times on 12 Posts

1KD1,

what didn't you like about the taste? What did you notice?

Thanks for sharing your experience!

Old 04-02-2012, 10:20 PM   #13
1KD1
Recipes 

Carbonation was thin, but in terms of taste... I'm still learning how to describe taste with the proper terminology.

Just seemed light for a red and kind of had a bit of floral taste. Like it was dry hopped with carnations or something. Wasn't what I expected from a red.

It was my first big (5gal) brew and I didn't get a good rolling boil. It was only my third brew total (2 Mr. Beers).

I only filled 46 bottles as well. Seems I lost more to trub than I expected. I did make sure the primary was topped off to 5 gals.

Old 04-03-2012, 02:26 AM   #14
Doctor_Wily
Recipes 

Liked 31 Times on 12 Posts

I did the same thing in starting with a mr beer kit, I did about 4 runs in that. my last one was kinda rough cuz I left it for like a month and a half (forgot about it, lol) so it tasted funky.

Old 04-03-2012, 03:41 AM   #15
TarVolon
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaneoco1981 View Post
Keep in mind that while your stick on thermometer is saying 70, it is probably 8 degrees warmer inside. Fermentation creates heat. 62 is good. Try and keep it there if at all possible. Where in Michigan do you live?