Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > First post! Serving beer at a party... Line size and length?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2011, 04:53 PM   #1
BuckshotBrewing
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default First post! Serving beer at a party... Line size and length?

First post!

A little background! I've been brewing beer for about 3 years, I'm about 25 5gal batches into my homebrew career. Ive always bottled my beer, and out of 25 batches only had to dump batch (neighbor was left incharge of fermentation, and my yeast never did grow... It tasted like dirty medicine porter) that's a little about me!

Ok, I just kegged 2 batches for a party, one is a porter and one is a pale. I'm not sure how to figure line size and pressure. I failed on the math formula earlier, and am not sure if I should split the diff on the pressure...

I bought 2 perlick perl faucets, 2-3" shanks, 2 90* 3/16 tail pieces, 2- 5' sections of 3/16 line.

My faucets will be 3' taller then the center of the kegs.

Also the only way to cool the beer is to keep it on ice, will this be an issue?

As far as gas goes, I have a 5# tank, a single stage reg, red co2 line, a 4way manifold with 2 outlet valves and 2 check valves.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2011, 04:56 PM   #2
frydogbrews
Recipes 

Liked 46 Times on 46 Posts

i usually try to use about 8 feet of line from teh keg to the faucet just to make sure i don't get excessive foaming. 5 should probably work.
how much time do you have to get these up to pressure? will you be able to slowly force carb them, or are you going to have to do the shake up thing? (i hate shaking good beer)

Old 08-25-2011, 05:00 PM   #3
BuckshotBrewing
Recipes 

I kegged yesterday, I added some priming sugar, and the kegs are sitting at 65*f

The party is in a month

I can let them force carb also, what pressure should I set the reg to?