New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > first partial mash

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2012, 05:23 PM   #101
unionrdr
Gotta home brew jones
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1658 Times on 1464 Posts
Likes Given: 1136

I finally got some batteries for the digicam & took a pic of this ale in my new Thirsty Dog brewery glass;
http://
Beer turned out really clear with good hop flavor & bittering. Malt flavor's a little light,but present. nice head & mouthfeel from the .5lb of carapils in the mash. Overall a well balanced pale ale. Good kit from midwest for $25!

People Like This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2013, 04:21 AM   #102
ChopperBri
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I’m kinda new to brewing. I’ve done about 6 batches (2 all grain). Can someone explain to me (very slowly) what the difference is between a partial mash and steeping grains in a grain bag for an hour? I’ve done a brew where I used about 11lbs of oats and dark malts + a lot of DME/LME. It all seems the same to me. Maybe I’m just not into the efficiency aspect. Thanks.

Old 02-02-2013, 04:23 AM   #103
libeerty
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 5 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 101 Times on 67 Posts
Likes Given: 42

The difference is that with partial mash you are creating fermentables. When you steep, it is just for mouthfeel, flavor, and aroma. You may have done a partial mash and not known it. Usually you mash at a lower temperature than you steep, too.

Tried to keep up with this signature, but just couldn't.

Old 02-02-2013, 04:39 AM   #104
zeg
Recipes 

Liked 126 Times on 108 Posts
Likes Given: 137