Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > first lager starter

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2013, 11:13 PM   #1
antony
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default first lager starter

so I'm making my first lager on sunday (maibock) & I was going to get a starter going tonight with wl german lager yeast (1qt to 1 cup dme). I believe its best to leave the starter at room temp (70ish) but I was looking for clarification. also, i've read threads that call for larger starter (stepping up) that are begun at least a week before pitching.

questions: will 1qt starter be sufficient? do i have enough time to get going & pitch on sunday night? if i was making an ale i wouldn't be so worried but this is my first time with lagers....

any help would be greatly appreciated.

drinking: falconer's flight ipa

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2013, 12:35 AM   #2
zzARzz
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 47 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 5

It depends on your OG, but a 1 qt simple starter at room temp should at least get the yeast active and growing before it hits the wort. You may also want to add nutrients to both the starter and wort if you have any. Lagers generally need a lot more viable cells than ales, so 1 qt (or 1L) is on the small side for a 5 gallon brew.

If you are able you would be better off making it around 3qts and decanting it by sticking it in the fridge Saturday night, then pour off almost all of the clear liquid off the white yeast cake (the stuff you want, of course) on the bottom of your starter vessel Sunday before pitching.

Old 01-26-2013, 01:13 AM   #3
rjwhite41
Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 6