Home Brew Forums

Home Brew Forums (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum.php)
-   Beginners Beer Brewing Forum (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/)
-   -   First Hefe review and comment please. (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/first-hefe-review-comment-please-67238/)

lucasszy 05-27-2008 05:26 PM

First Hefe review and comment please.
 
Beer: first try hefe
Style: Weizen/Weissbier

Type: Extract w/grain
Size: 5 gallons

Color estimate:
7 HCU (~6 SRM)
Bitterness estimate: 21 IBU
OG: 1.073 FG: 1.014
Alcohol: 7.0% v/v (5.5% w/w)

Grain steep:
8 oz. Belgian aromatic
1 lb. Flaked wheat
8 oz. acid malt

Boil: 60 minutes 3 gallons

1 lb. 8 oz. Light malt extract
6 lb. Wheat extract


Boil: 10 minutes
1 lb. Honey
.5 lb camomile flowers

Hops: 2 oz. Hallertauer (4.25% AA, 60 min.)
.25 oz. Cascade (6% AA, 15 min.)
.25 oz. Saaz (3.75% AA, 15 min.)
.25 oz. Spalt (6.75% AA, 15 min.)

Yeast:
Hefe IV pitched at 67 degrees (first slow bubbles within 1 hour)

Any comments or review would be greatly appreciated.

Evan! 05-27-2008 05:31 PM

What was the honey for? And chamomile? And acid malt? That's no hefe, that's a...um...witbier of sorts. Let us know how it turns out, though. You probably won't win any comps with it, regardless, given that it's probably not gonna fit in any BJCP categories, but regardless...it'll be a wheat beer.

FishinDave07 05-27-2008 05:44 PM

It would be interesting...I'd keep it simple using all wheat malt extract, MAYBE 1 ounce of hops in 2 additions (Something like 75. oz @ 60min & .25 oz @ 20min). You don't need the flaked wheat, i'm sure what the acid malt is really about, and the belgian aromatic along with honey & camomile flowers is going on a boarder line belgian wit. None the less, let us know how it comes out. I'd be interested to know :mug:

lucasszy 05-27-2008 08:20 PM

It was a modified recipe that I found online. Seems to have gotten good reviews on the site that it was listed.

WE'll see, call it experimentation.

Cheers

Lucas

lucasszy 05-27-2008 10:46 PM

Update
 
Its actually a take on a franziskaner hefeweizen clone.

FYI

homebrewer_99 05-27-2008 10:48 PM

Way too many ingredients IMO. A good HW is really simple:

6 lbs Wheat DME (rarely above 6.6 lbs)
3AAs hops at boiling

That's it.

Incidently, your calculation is a bit off: OG: 1.073 FG: 1.014...at 73 / 4 = 18 FG.

That's still kind of high. If you let it go lower it'll be more dry.

Freddy57 05-28-2008 12:09 AM

Looking at the list of ingredients; my mouth is watering something fierce. It may not win competitions but I think it will be a winner as far as having a tasty brew goes. Be sure and post the results when you get it finished, I would be very interested in how it tastes.

Soulive 05-28-2008 12:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lucasszy (Post 692022)
Its actually a take on a franziskaner hefeweizen clone.

FYI

I made that clone recipe when I was starting out. It was good, but unnecessarily complex. Good hefeweizens are usually simple recipes...

lucasszy 06-28-2008 08:46 PM

This weekend I tasted this after bottling with .5lb of pale malt extract and carbonating with an additional of american ale yeast (dry sasafale)

This stuff is amazing! Rich and creamy and STRONG!!! The honey taste comes thru, as does a smidge of chamomile.

I will definitely brew this again.... It just took weeks and weeks to ferment. OG was almost 1.080.

This has an awesome kick. Not a session beer at all!

Cheers

lucas

homebrewer_99 06-28-2008 10:55 PM

Whatever you call it it's still not a Hefe Weizen...just letting you know that...


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:44 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.