Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > First Ever Brew Day Done! But Some Concerns...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2013, 06:53 PM   #1
natelindner
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 2

Default First Ever Brew Day Done! But Some Concerns...

Hi all,

I just finished my first brew day ever! Most things went smoothly I believe but I have just a few concerns:

1. When all was said and done and I put my wort into the fermenter it was 20% less volume than I was expecting. I'm wondering why that could be when I used a calculator to determine how much water to use. I added back the difference so I also hope thats not an issue.

2. I've never done this before so is it normal that my wort doesnt really smell like how finished beer smells? It smells a bit like cheez-its mixed with hops.

3. When I was pouring into my fermenter I had a very hard time not letting the sediment from the boil get in with my wort. Is this a major issue? And how in the future might I keep that sediment out?

Thanks in advance!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2013, 07:09 PM   #2
Beernik
Recipes 

Liked 295 Times on 248 Posts
Likes Given: 20

1. You can lose some volume to boil off. How much depends on air temp & pressure, elevation, boil time, and how vigorous the boil is.

2. It doesn't smell or taste like finished beer. Cheez-its sounds a bit weird though. I've always found it to be kind of sweet & syrupy. Fermentation converts sugar to alcohol & reduces the sweetness.

3. Sediment shouldn't hurt it. I avoid transferring sediment by racking from the boil pot to my bucket/carboy.

Old 03-02-2013, 07:11 PM   #3
histo320
Recipes 

Liked 31 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 8

1. Did you boil inside or outside? What was your expected volume? If you didn't do a full boil you will have to add water to get up to your expected volume.