First Brew Jitters...help!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PrivetDriveBrewery

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the homebrew. I cooked my first batch of an Irish Red Ale recipe from NB two weeks ago today. Things went well, put it into a 6 gallon carboy. I didn't get a hydrometer, have one coming in the mail the next couple of days. I had a lot of activity for the first 3 or 4 days and then it slowly began to decline. After one week I had no apparent activity. Nothing bubbling through the value.

I gave it a few more days and yesterday went ahead and moved it from primary to secondary. Did I move too early? I had read somewhere that it's good to follow a 1-2-3 format, and I'm hoping to bottle a week from today (3 weeks out from brew date) but now I'm wondering if I should hold off and keep it in secondary longer. In general what's a good amount of time to keep it in primary before moving to secondary and when should I bottle. Obviously things differ from beer to beer but guidelines are helpful so I don't freak myself out.

I'm planning on cooking my next batch next weekend (Caribbou Slobber). Loving this hobby already just want to make sure I'm informed.

Cheers!:mug: