Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > First brew experience...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2013, 09:13 PM   #1
orchidbeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default First brew experience...

This is my first time brewing. I have been reading about and watching videos on home brewing for the past few weeks. On Saturday I attended an intro to brewing class at the Northern Brewer (lucky to have one in the neighborhood). I picked up the essential brewing starter kit with the Caribou Slobber ale.
Wednesday night I activated the WYEAST 1332 and Thursday morning the pack looked like a small football. Followed the recipe, very easy, no problems. OG 1.052-1.053 @ 64ºF. Pitched the yeast @66ºF around noon. Checked the air lock 7pm no activity. Checked at 7:30am this morning and bubbling vigorously. I am fermenting in the basement with the temp in the mid 60's.
Now comes the hard part, WAITING.

Thanks for reading, Joe

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2013, 09:19 PM   #2
Slowfro
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Congrats and welcome to your newest addiction. The best thing you can do now while you're waiting is go get another beer fermenting so you establish a bit of a pipeline...it makes the wait for each batch a little less painful!

Cheers!

Great Outdoors Brewery:
You can't drink all day unless you start in the morning!

www.frobrew.com
@frobrew on the twitter

Old 01-11-2013, 09:22 PM   #3
RM-MN
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 855 Times on 712 Posts
Likes Given: 319

Congratulations! It sounds like you are off to a very good start and have the brew at the temperature that will give you good beer. I know that the waiting is tough but you know that the wait is essential and you have this forum to read while you wait.