Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > First Brew

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2011, 02:09 PM   #1
tsimo33
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default First Brew

So I am brand new to this and I brewed my first batch on Monday night. It was a BB Weizenbier. I have been checking airlock on my primary for the last couple of days and no activity. I was a little concerned last night so I popped the lid and there was a thick layer of krausen and it smelled like beer. This has to be a good sign right, even though I have seen no activity in the airlock?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2011, 02:17 PM   #2
PIGMAN
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 13

That's the best sign, forget the airlock. Try to leave it alone now, so it can do it's job and make great beer. Brew another batch in the meantime.

Old 12-29-2011, 02:21 PM   #3
tsimo33
Recipes 

Thanks for the reply. I figured it was fine and i will leave it for a while. Patience is not my strong suit but I know it will be worth it in the end.

Wish I could brew another batch but since I am new to this, I don't have the setup to brew more then one batch at a time. Oh well.

Old 12-29-2011, 02:24 PM   #4
BMan1029
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

It will help you greatly from worrying as you continue this wonderful hobby of brewing beer, if you do not regard the airlock as the end all, be all of fermentation activity. If you have krausen, you are making beer. Sounds like you are using a bucket- A carboy would allow you to see whats going on, i.e that layer of krausen and ease your mind. Congrats on the first beer, you are doing just fine!

Old 12-29-2011, 02:26 PM   #5
MuchoGusto
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 6