Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > First beer, stuck fermentation?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2013, 01:16 AM   #1
CoreyT
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default First beer, stuck fermentation?

Hi,
I've new to brewing beer, I've done several meads however so I have some basic knowledge of the process. I read a bit online, and ran across the White House Honey Ale recipe, http://www.whitehouse.gov/blog/2012/...se-beer-recipe. I made the wort and got everything going Sunday and by Monday the airlock was bubbling along nicely and I thought I was set. I thought I had the brew in a good spot to keep the temperature right for fermentation, but as of Tuesday morning the airlock has been stagnant. I picked up a beer belt from the local brew shop yesterday to get the temp back up and hopefully get things back on track. I even tried stirring the batch this evening to get the yeast back in action to no effect.

I'm wondering if I should try making a nice yeast starter and pitching that in, or if I've bitten off more than I can chew for my first batch and need to scrap it and start over, and simpler. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-24-2013, 01:35 AM   #2
jonnyp1980
Recipes 

Liked 43 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 2

How do you know fermentation is stuck? What was you starting gravity? What is your final gravity. How long has it been in primary? Just because airlock activity has stopped doesn't mean it has stalled.

http://www.youtube.com/user/Homebrew...?feature=watch

Old 01-24-2013, 01:36 AM   #3
CBMbrewer
Recipes 

Liked 61 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 13