Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > First batch... starting to taste "off"

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2012, 03:42 PM   #1
Ashella
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default First batch... starting to taste "off"

Hello all!

I am a newbie to brewing. My first batch was an all-extract American Cream Ale kit from Brewers Best. It was put in primary Aug 8th, and bottled Aug 24th with no secondary. Before bottling, I took a sample and tasted it and it tasted great! I have been drinking it since the 27th, and while the carbonation and clarity are improving, it seems to be developing an off flavor.

I have looked over the "off-flavours" in many books, but can't directly relate the taste to one of those. The best way I can describe it is a bitter, astringent note in the aftertaste. It's almost a bit like the bitterness that comes from the hops, but moreso.

I was very diligent with all my cleaning and sanitation. As I said, it tasted great immediately before bottling. This off note has only appeared since bottling. I have stored the bottles at room temp (72f) in my basement. No exposure to light except for the occasions when the light is on in the room, which isn't too frequent.

My question is, what do you think could have caused this? Is it possible that this off-note will disappear with time, or is it likely that it's only going to get worse? Given my lack of experience, any info you guys can provide would be very helpful. I have another batch in primary right now and want to avoid any pitfalls I may have had with the first one.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2012, 03:52 PM   #2
ksbrain
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 2