Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Finally

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2013, 12:32 AM   #1
jmarko579
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Finally

I started brewing about 2 years ago and made 3 beers right out of the gate. They turned out as follows:

1. Not bad
2. Drinkable
3. Awful dirt water

Disillusioned and about to have my first child I gave up. Clearly I didn't have what it took. Now that my child is a little older and I have a little more free time, I decided to give it a go again. I got the Speckled Heifer partial mash kit from Norther Brewer and had at it. I didn't have a great plan, kinda winged it and was pretty sure this was going to turn out the same or worse as the others.

Fast forward a few weeks and decided to try one after it had been in the bottle for a week. I cracked the bottle and gave it a whiff. It smelled....good? I poured, it poured well with good carbonation. It tasted....good? I actually got the bottle out and looked it over to make sure that I didn't grab one of the craft beers out of the fridge by accident. I am so amazed and overjoyed I don't know what to do with myself. Needless to say this is the worst news my wife could have received.

Anyway, what happened? My technique definitely wasn't any better. I fermented it warmer than I should have for sure. Is partial mash a little more forgiving? Was the style more forgiving?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2013, 12:40 AM   #2
ImNoExpert
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 15