Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Final gravity reading without hydrometer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2009, 09:05 AM   #1
OnIslandBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Final gravity reading without hydrometer

I know you can use a hydrometer to tell you when your fermentation is complete, but bare with me here as I'm a newbie to brewing:

Instead of having to constantly pop the lid and take your readings, why couldn't you use a balloon to let you know when final gravity has been reached? After activity slows down in the airlock, simply attach a balloon to the top of the airlock. If it inflates even slightly, you're not done yet. Pop the balloon off and repeat tomorrow. When the balloon fails to inflate over a 24 hour period, you're done! ... right? Or does the fermentation continue far past the point where noticeable amounts of CO2 are released?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2009, 12:09 PM   #2
Bob
Recipes 

Liked 126 Times on 94 Posts
Likes Given: 36

The problem is that CO2 isn't a reliable measure of fermentation. Yeah, the initial ferment is quite vigorous, and lots and lots of CO2 is devolved. As fermentation slows, less CO2 is devolved. But some still stays in the beer, and the weirdest things can cause it to devolve, like barometric pressure or slamming a door in the house. What I'm saying is that the ferment can be completely over and the beer can still 'off-gas'.

Moreover, there is no growth in rushing the beer out of the primary. Commercial breweries get the beer out of the primary quickly because tank space = money. But we don't need to do that. Keeping the beer on the yeast for a week beyond the end of that initial vigorous ferment has a number of beneficial side-effects.

I'm afraid that, if you want to do things properly, you're just going to have to keep using your hydrometer.

Bob

Brewmaster