Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Filtering your beer?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-07-2008, 02:37 AM   #1
GatorBait
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Filtering your beer?

I'm really new to home brewing, but I must say I absolutely love it. I just finished the last bottle from my first batch (a red ale), and my second batch (summer ale) is in the primary fermenter at the moment.

Anyway, My first batch had a small layer of sediment at the bottom of each bottle. It doesn't bother me too much, but my poker buddies weren't big fans. I was wondering if anyone could point me in the direction of a good filtration system or knows some good tips for clearing up your brew.

Thanks!

-Bobby E.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2008, 02:44 AM   #2
Rhys79
Recipes 

That layer of sediment was the yeast that carbonated your beer. Unless you plan to force carbonate your bottles (Obviously it can be done, the commercial breweries do it, but I don't think you want to spend THAT much money on equipment...), or you want to drink flat beer, you WANT that layer of sediment. Homebrew generally is not drank straight from the bottle. You poor it out into a glass and leave a 1/2 inch or so of beer at the bottom of the bottle with the sediment. The other option is to keg, which again, is not generally cheap for the equipment. Glad to hear your first brew came out good though. I had some trouble with mine (sanitation mistake during bottling ). Second batch should go better though I hope... It's a Coopers Real Ale in the primary at the moment.

Old 04-07-2008, 02:46 AM   #3
mdowns63

Recipes 

I would tell my friends to stop whining or buy their own beer!!!

I'm also a new brewer, but I think the only way to avoid this sediment is to move on to kegging your beer and filtering it beforehand, since the yeast is necessary to carbonate your beer in the bottle.