The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Fermentation Temperature

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2013, 06:21 AM   #1
WaltG
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts

Default Fermentation Temperature

Ok, so since I'm new to this I spend most of my free time reading, watching videos, etc. So today I was looking at fermentation temps. So out of curiosity I poked my thermometer (sanitized of course) into my 1-gallon fermenter. Came up with 75 degrees. Using safale us-05 which says 59-75.

Question is will it make a difference to bring the temp down a few degrees?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2013, 07:10 AM   #2
Puddlethumper
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 199 Times on 159 Posts
Likes Given: 172

Quote:
Originally Posted by WaltG View Post
Ok, so since I'm new to this I spend most of my free time reading, watching videos, etc. So today I was looking at fermentation temps. So out of curiosity I poked my thermometer (sanitized of course) into my 1-gallon fermenter. Came up with 75 degrees. Using safale us-05 which says 59-75.

75F is probably way too warm for 05 yeast. My experience with this strain has indicated it is much happier at 65-68. Others may give other numbers but I think most will suggest cooler than 75. Personally, I like to run 05 at 65-66F and have had decent results with it there. (I'm now using BRY-97 for most beers that I used to use 05 for.)

If it has been in the fermenter more than a couple of days it may not matter all that much at this point.

--------

Beer ----

--- the reason I wake up every afternoon.

------

E_Marquez Likes This 
Old 12-02-2013, 07:12 AM   #3
WaltG
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddlethumper View Post