Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Fermentation stopped after 1 day

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2008, 07:35 PM   #11
NZGirl
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Argh... I just read an article Revvy had linked in another post... along the lines of "evaluate before action"... once you've taken an action it's hard to undo it.

And never listen to your LHBS guy/girl... ask the guys/girls here.

Two days is too soon for secondary

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2008, 08:01 PM   #12
IwanaBrich
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I agree I've never done it so fast before, but the fermentation appears finished and that is what the local HBS guy told me to do. In fact it is already clearing.

What is the reason for not racking?

Old 12-30-2008, 08:10 PM   #13
MX1
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 45 Times on 37 Posts
Likes Given: 73

There is a lot of stuff that goes on after the bulk of fermentation stops. The yeast still have work to do cleaning up after themselves. I always let my beer wait for 3 weeks in the primary, then to the clearing tank if needed for conditioning.

Did you get consecutive SG readings before you racked? That is the only real way to know if your done.

my euro cent

Tim

"The ART of brewing Beer, is the ACT of brewing Beer"

Ferm 1: Colorado Common Cream Ale
Ferm 2:

On Deck: Pin Cushin IPA

Keg 1: House Amber Ale
Keg 2: Switchback Stout

Total Gallons brewed (2014) - 40

Old 12-30-2008, 08:21 PM   #14
IwanaBrich
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Yes, the SG was 1.008.

Old 02-11-2013, 06:48 PM   #15
ILOVEBEER23
Recipes 

I just made an amber ale & had similiar results, the fermentation stopped after 1 day. i pitched my yeast at 70 degrees like the directions said & the OG reading was right on as well. I guess time will tell!