Fermentation is done but FG is high?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rainyn

Reaction score
Hi all!
Hoping some experts could help me with my oatmeal stout. I used a "Brewer's Best" Oatmeal Stout kit. This is the first time I've ever used grains. (partial extract and partial grains kit).
The instructions that came with the kit here: http://www.brewersbestkits.com/pdf/1042 Oatmeal Stout.pdf

The kit had me steep my grains and said not go go above 162F but I'm a bit new at this so I know I went above that a few times, like maybe 165 or a little higher.

When I measured my OG, it came out much higher than the kit said it would. (kit said to expect an OG of 1.048-1.056) I got an OG of 1.095.

I pitched the dry yeast that came with the kit. Yes I just threw it in there dry (and yes I did aerate as best I could). 8 hours later, it was bubbling like crazy with nice krausen.
24 hours, all signs of fermentation seemed to stop. I thought it would go longer. I let it sit two days but no visible activity. Hydrometer said I was at 1.040 and I had TONS of sediment. I racked to a new container, hoping the yeast would liven up a bit.

That was about 3 days ago. Since then, I see a bubble come out maybe once every 5 minutes in my fermentation lock. I am still at 1.040.
I tried to "test" my yeast by throwing a teaspoon of sugar into my stalled brew and the yeast immediately started foaming all over it so I don't think they're dead.

Is this done?
Did my too high steeping temp put too many unfermentables in my wort?
Is oatmeal fermentable anyways?
Did my yeast work really fast?
Should I rack again and let it sit longer?

I just don't have enough experience yet to tell for myself what's going on.