Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Fermentation can take 24 to 72 hrs to show visible signs.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2010, 12:17 PM   #411
songstre
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by bernerbrau View Post
I have to ask anyway. It's been about 14 hours, but: I just purchased a chest freezer from Lowe's and a fridge thermostat from my LHBS. I have the ambient temperature of the freezer set to 58F. I'm using WLP060 and the pitching SG was 1.064. I also did not make a starter. This is my first time fermenting with explicit temperature controls.

Usually, using liquid yeast even without a starter, I get vigorous fermentation after about 8 hours or so. Is an ambient 58F too low to start fermentation or will I just need to wait longer?
This yeast should ferment between 68-72. Not sure why you would want 58. What are you brewing?
http://www.whitelabs.com/beer/strains_wlp060.html

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-27-2010, 01:13 PM   #412
bernerbrau
Recipes 

Liked 27 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by songstre View Post
This yeast should ferment between 68-72. Not sure why you would want 58. What are you brewing?
http://www.whitelabs.com/beer/strains_wlp060.html
I'm brewing an APA.

Two reasons I'm fermenting at 58. 1, I'm trying to get a cleaner fermentation out of this yeast than the last batch, and 2, Palmer suggests that fermentation can be 10 degrees hotter than ambient temps.

Oh, and "optimum range" doesn't necessarily mean "won't ferment outside this range"...

Old 09-27-2010, 01:36 PM   #413
songstre
Recipes