New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Fermentation can take 24 to 72 hrs to show visible signs.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2008, 02:13 PM   #101
Tom Anderson
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

I also have a question about fermentation times as a new brewer...third batch now in primary. English Ale. First two, Flat Tyre Too....and excellent too!
I used a White Labs English Ale yeast and it took 36 hrs before fermentation really got going (via airlock action). When I pitched the yeast it may not have been at room temp and I didn't do anything with the wort after I pitched the yeast. This is my first time using liquid yeast and the container says 5-15 hours. I'm wondering what happened? The wort did cool to about 68 for the first day, now it's up to 72. Is it because I didn't aerate the wort? Temp differences between yeast and wort? Thanks for any information!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2008, 06:05 PM   #102
CurtFlood

Recipes 

I'm going to keg my first batch of homebrew this week, so hopefully my repitching of the yeast won't add too many ill-effects. Oh well....my hopes are set pretty low since it's my first batch. However, I did just order another recipe kit - a sweet stout extract kit from Austin Homebrewing - I'm hoping it taste more like Left Hand Milk Stout and less like Quick.

Old 03-02-2008, 05:19 AM   #103
mhdfj2
Recipes 

Default Over 48 hours and no signs of activity..

I brewed my beer on Thursday night and still have yet to see any signs of activity in my airlock. Should I be worried or is this normal? The only reason I am worried is that 1. this is my first batch and 2. when i pitched my yeast my wort was around 60 degrees. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Old 03-02-2008, 05:27 AM   #104
Bob869007
Mmmmm Beer!

Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default Read the thread