Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > ferment temp issues

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2012, 10:40 AM   #31
RM-MN
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 746 Times on 625 Posts
Likes Given: 235

Quote:
Originally Posted by DuffTheTaxidermist View Post
good call, the recipe has the following ratings that i had no clue what they meant, until a second look...

SG 1062
FG 1014
13 SRM (no clue what that means... sugars?)
21 IBU (though the hopps taste when i drew my hydro sample last night, was far stronger than i anticipated)

so, im assuming the FG is 1.014?

what should the beer have looked like when i opened it up? it looked rather flat, and that there wasnt much of any activity... is that normal? and i understand its going to be flat as in non carbonated... i mean flat as in not fermenting? idk, this is all so new, im still learning. i hope my questions arent annoying.
SRM is just a measurement of the color or darkness of the beer. It isn't terribly important but gives you an idea of how dark it should turn out.

When I open my beer for the first time after several days in the fermenter it is just flat too with a ring of brown gunk around the fermenter just above it. That ring is a krausen ring, the leftovers of a successful fermentation of the beer. You shouldn't see any other signs of fermentation as that would have passed withing the first few days, often within the first 2 days. That lack of visible activity doesn't mean the yeast are dead. There are some byproducts produced during the active part of the ferment that are broken down later but show no visible signs.
Old 12-04-2012, 04:01 AM   #32
DuffTheTaxidermist
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 19

im starting to calm down a little bit about my "dead" ferment... i just dont know enough, but thanks to you guys im less worried.