Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > fearing diacetyl

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2013, 04:01 PM   #1
ejf063
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default fearing diacetyl

Hi all,
I am brand new to this. I have searched the threads and I am still confused at my issue. I have just kegged my first batch of Brewer's Best American Pale Ale. The fermentation in the primary went for about 3 weeks at 64-66 degrees. I transferred to a secondary where it sat at the same temp for another 3 weeks. I tasted the beer after having forced CO2'ed it and I have a hint of butterscotch at the end. I don’t know what I did wrong. I have been told that secondary is not necessary for ales. I was also told to let the initial fermentation slow (about 1-2 bubbles per minute), then take the batch to a warmer climate (~71 degrees) for 24 hours, then back to 66 degrees. I have my second batch in a primary now, an Alpha King extract clone. I brewed it Saturday, 2/16 and I am still getting 3-5 bubbles per minute (2/18). I don’t want to ruin this next batch. How can I control the Diacetyl. Should I taste the beer, should I leave it alone, should I raise the temp? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2013, 06:07 PM   #2
TopherM
Vinz Clortho - the Keymaster of Gozer the Gozerian
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Brew Setups
Recipes 

Liked 428 Times on 338 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Do you have a Revvy Bubble Counter (RBC) you could replace your airlock with by chance?

Primary #1 - Midnight Ryeder (Midnight Wheat and Rye)
Primary #2 - Mango Habenero Berliner Weisse
Primary #3 - EMPTY!
Secondary #1 - Downtown Flanders Brown (brewed August 2012)
Keg #1 - Oktoberfest
Keg #2 - Chamomile Honey Wheat
Keg #3 - Pumpkin Ale
Bottled - NONE!

Old 02-18-2013, 06:13 PM   #3
TopherM
HBT_SUPPORTER.png