Fail Safe First Time Homebrew

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mateo6891

Reaction score
After a lot of time reading many threads on here, I'm getting ready for my first homebrew. I've had some experience with distilling, and a horrible experience with Mr. Beer some years ago.

I was wondering what y'all would recommend for a fail safe, easy first homebrew? I was hoping for a IPA or something along the line of a Shiner Bock clone. Austin Homebrew has a decent looking clone, and with my family being from Shiner, I know their beers quite well.

I've spent countless hours reading up between here and other sites before I even got to this point. I have several buddies doing homebrew that make some damn good beer using Austin Hombrews kits.

I was just wanting to know what everyone here thought would be a good, fail safe first homebrew.

I love all beer styles, so I'm open to anything.

I'm bottling my first brew tomorrow. I went with an American Amber. It was easy enough, and after tasting it during a gravity measurement this evening, it turned out pretty good.

A caveat with a bock is that lagers require cooler temps to get the desired results. For most people, ales are a better starting point, since you can keep a fermenter in the mid 60s a lot more easily than you can keep it in the mid 50s.

I've had very good results with AHS kits. I haven't brewed any of their IPA kits, but from a quick scan of some of them, I would say maybe give the Shot Caller IPA a try? That suggestion is based mainly on the fact that I like complex hop flavors and they have 4 hops featured in that one.

I was thinking an ale might be more along my lines.

I plan on stopping by AHB one of these days, seeing how I pass it on a daily baisis, just can never find the time.