Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Expresso stout suggestions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2013, 01:26 AM   #1
Bfranklin007
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Expresso stout suggestions

I am new to home brewing, I am about to try my first stout. I enjoy a strong coffee flavored stout. Can someone help me understand my best means to really pack in a presence of coffee? Any input is greatly appreciated.
Cheers!!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-24-2013, 02:22 AM   #2
timrox1212
Recipes 

Liked 40 Times on 29 Posts

You can cold brew coffee and add it to the secondary but I personally like to use grains that give off strong coffee flavors such as black patent and carafa 2. I use 1/2 a pound of each in my steeping grains for all my stouts.

Old 10-24-2013, 02:29 AM   #3
Bfranklin007
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts

timrox1212, Thanks for the input. I will be using an extract. I am entertaining the idea of putting espresso beans into the boil. I am just questioning how long. I was thinking of going with 30 min. to start with and see how it comes out and adjust on the next batch. Although, I am not 100% sure this is the method I will take. This is why I posted this thread to get some input and ideas of different options. Any insight you can provide is greatly appreciated and helpful.

Old 10-24-2013, 02:44 AM   #4
timrox1212
Recipes 

Liked 40 Times on 29 Posts

Do not boil the beans at all!! When you boil coffee beans it releases tannins and will creates bad off flavors. Cold brewing coffee is easy. Take 1 1/2 cup ground coffee and 4 cups water and combine them in a container. Set it in the fridge overnight and then strain through a coffee filter. Rack your beer ontop of this concentrated coffee.