The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Experimental idea, new to advanced brewing!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2007, 12:57 AM   #1
Kadmium
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Experimental idea, new to advanced brewing!

Ok guys, so I am fairly new to brewing in general, but have that whole "can of wort, hot water, dextrose in a beer fermenter kit" pretty down pact, and was thinking of experimenting. I am going to first try with a simple experiment on conditioning beer with fruit? My theory is to use a nice blen of traditional British Ale hops / wort etc and let ferment in the primary for around 7 days (or untill done) then rack into a glass carboy for conditioning/secondary. My theory is, when racking it off to rack this onto frozen / boiled raspberries (about 2 pounds) and let it all condition in there for 2 weeks or so, then bottle. Will this

A) kill the yeast? (doubt it but still worries me)

B) Cause a funky beer?

C) do anything to add to the flavour?

D) enhance my beer, or just mess it up, including the bottling?

E) Promote Autolysis? (yeast mass suicide)

thanks in advance!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2007, 01:08 AM   #2
Erbium:YAG

Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Maybe you should post some questions on brewing when you're of legal age to drink. The last thing we home brewers want is to have special interest groups lobbying for legislation that eventually stamps out our hobby because we knowingly supported underage drinking. I hope you can understand this perspective. It's not a snub.

Last edited by Erbium:YAG; 01-14-2007 at 01:16 AM.

Old 01-14-2007, 01:25 AM   #3
SOB
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by erbiumyag