New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > err did I mess up?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2011, 04:59 PM   #1
Vincentdante
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default err did I mess up?

Hi I'm new to brewing beer. I read the FAQ but my problem isn't in there.

Basically what I did was, I bought all of my equipment in installments as I could over a few weeks. I watched 100's of videos and read through many forums like this one to get the general idea. I got Everything I thought I would need and got to work on my first batch following the instructions very closely.

Currently it's sitting in the fermenting bucket, I just finnished today and waiting for it to start. But I'm worried about one thing, My bucket's lid doesn't have a hole for an airlock. I read online that I can sit the lid loosely ontop and that will suffice to let the co2 out while keeping air away. So I didn't pay it much heed. But I now I thought I would google it further for peice of mind and I can't find anything else recommending that. Should I go out and buy an airlock? Then drill a hole in my lid?

Will I be ok with what I have done?

Thank you for your time.

Last edited by Vincentdante; 08-26-2011 at 05:02 PM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-26-2011, 05:03 PM   #2
hopsalot
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 55

I would sanitize some foil, lay it over the top securing it loosely so no dust or airborne bacteria can get in the bucket and then lay the lid on top of that. In future brews I recommend you buy pre drilled lids with a grommets and use airlocks, but you should be fine if everything was clean to begin with.

Old 08-26-2011, 05:04 PM   #3
paulster2626
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 296 Times on 194 Posts
Likes Given: 449