Eggnog - wheat "Christmas" beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jes2xu

Reaction score
Ok so no idea where I should really put this post. But I'm new......so this section seems fitting!

Disclaimer:
I'm a compleat brewing noob, but before you jump to the "what are you thinking doing something like that?" Post I have a very experienced brewer helping out! So I in no way take credit for any of this :) he has however been awesome in letting me kinda set this up, helping me guide the recipe by telling me when I'm wrong (not giving it all to me on a plate).

The why:
My SWMBO is awesome! She is actually the one who drives the thirst for craft beer in our house, and the one that nudged me into brewing. The one catch........she demanded a "Christmas beer". The lovely lady is American, and has no end of hatred for the New Zealand summer Christmas. So this is a mid year/winter Christmas beer for her.

The goal:
The beer form of eggnog!
I wanted to aim for the flavours of eggnog but for it to still be "beer". To have a a thick creamy silky mouth feel, a golden/straw colour (think of that store bought, more chemical than food, eggnog in a box colour. Yeah that's the stuff she loves!). Have a sweet quality but not be a "desert beer".

The base:
I didn't want to get to over my head, so it's put together with extract kits.

1 light hopped wheat LME (1.7 kg)
1 Dutch Pilsner LME (1.7 kg)
500g un hopped wheat DME

300g oats (steeped with a little base malt)

At around 20l

With saison yeast

The "eggnog":