New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Easy Partial Mash Brewing (with pics)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2010, 04:28 PM   #961
wiescins
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Used this method for my first partial mash last weekend and made what i'm told is a total newbie mistake. Instead of letting the grain bag slowly drain, I compressed the bag and forced out the wort. How big of a mistake was this? I had about 7.5lbs of grain and 3lbs of DME in the total recipe.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-21-2010, 04:30 PM   #962
wiescins
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Also, I forgot to ask about speciialty grains vs base grains and time in mash. Do i blend all grains for the entire 60min? For some reason i did the 2-row for 60min, but added the crystal/oats at the mid point so that they were only mashing for 30min. hopefully these 2 mistakes didn't ruin a batch.

Old 08-21-2010, 06:46 PM   #963
GermanBlood
Recipes 

what's wrong with compressing the bag to force out the wort? I figure you just don't throw away as much wort that would be sucked up in the grains... I just drank a beer I did with this method and it seemed to turn out just fine... although it was a light blonde type beer that wasn't too complicated.

Old 08-24-2010, 03:11 AM   #964
wiescins
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

"I wouldn't recirculate the wort. Instead, to increase efficiency, I often use a small amount of the sparge water and pour it over the grains while they are sitting in my colander over the mash pot. This allows a bit of run-off before you dunk it in the sparge water. I've found it increases efficiency, especially in my all-grain bag batches."

What type of temperature do you recommend for this process?

Like many have said already, thanks for this great thread, made my jump to PM with this method and I'm not going back!