Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > drop in fermentation temp bad??

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-22-2008, 05:16 AM   #1
bell0347
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Default drop in fermentation temp bad??

I am a paramedic and being such I work a jacked up schedule. Between work and school and other junk I don't make it home too often. Anyway, when I ferment I stick my bucket in my spare bathroom tub and fill it up. The temp of the water hovers around 68F. This wonderful Texas weather drops like 40degrees one day and is back up in the 70's the next. I am not at home to monitor the temp. closely so the best I can do is hope the water mitigates the temp. change some. I know a rise in temp. can lead to some off flavors but is gentle drop and then rise back to original fermentation temp gonna have any negative effects?

I deally, I will be building a fermentation cab as soon as I get moved, next month maybe!

B.Bell

"Hell, it aint rocket surgery"

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChshreCat View Post
Beer should never enter a septic system until it's had a trip through the kidneys first. :D

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2008, 05:34 AM   #2
BrianP

Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Yeast interpret a sudden drop in temperature as a signal to prepare for survival. Many strains will drop out of suspension and stop fermenting. If they do this you need to try to restart the fermentation by making a small starter with new yeast and pitching this actively-fermenting wort into your 'stuck' wort.