*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Done with kits

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-18-2013, 05:13 AM   #1
morganamps
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 5 Posts

After my 3rd kit I think I'm moving on to BIAB

I just want more control over what I'm doing. Extracts are both easy and uninspiring

I don't even know what type of hops I used on the last kit. When they labeled the hops things like flavor or bitters it just makes me feel stupid kind of like calling blue #2 on a paint by numbers painting.
I prefer to call it blue or even indigo

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2013, 10:38 AM   #2
RM-MN
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 756 Times on 634 Posts
Likes Given: 248

I've been doing BIAB for a couple of years now and I agree, kits were a nice way to get started but all grain gives you lots more ways to screw up a brew. A lot more challenging and more fun and I've been able to drink all the beers I've made but it's just the last few that I'm really proud of.

Old 03-18-2013, 10:56 AM   #3
WoodlandBrew
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 123 Times on 120 Posts
Likes Given: 57

BIAB really does open up a whole world of possibilities. It was moving to BIAB that got me interested in the science if brewing. A lot can be done with extract recipe design as well. Use of simple sugar and maltodextrin can be used to adjust attenuation. With extract you don't have to worry about messing up the mash.

The 2nd edition is now available: Brewing Engineering
Woodland Brewing Research Blog Applied Science for Better Beer.

Old 03-18-2013, 11:40 AM   #4
WannabeBeerNerd
Recipes 

Liked 24 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 3