Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Does "no secondary" equal "shooting yourself in the foot

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-29-2013, 08:36 PM   #1
misterbk
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default Does "no secondary" equal "shooting yourself in the foot

Brew-science newbie here. (My second 5-gal batch is in the closet now.) My roommate brews too and is less of a newbie, he's been doing it for a few years and understands the process better than I do so far.

We've been using a process where we let the beer sit for an extended time in primary, letting the beer sit in the carboy until it clears up and reaches FG and then siphoning out rather than racking to a secondary. We get good flavors and good clarity, but it has me wondering if we're missing out.

The factors leading to our extended-primary decision were:
* Limited space for equipment
* Less effort = more fun
* Great results so far, as far as we can tell.
* Having read that this might actually be a good thing (no way I could say where my roomie saw this, at very least he heard there was interest in this process.)

We have several things to dial down for sure, before we'd even consider saying we're doing everything right. The beer comes out great, but not always quite what we tried to make. I'm working on fermentation temp control (right now it's just ambient temperature which is 71 degrees), and a keezer for serving what we've made. Just wondering because everybody seems to talk about racking off to secondary in their process, and we aren't doing that so far. I'd love to do an experimental side-by-side, but not until I get the other stuff dialed in. Maybe someone here already knows what I should expect if we started going that route?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2013, 08:41 PM   #2
evrose
Recipes 

Liked 300 Times on 159 Posts
Likes Given: 234