The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Does brewing cause you to drink more beer?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2013, 02:20 AM   #21
darrenbrews
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 4

I'm drinking less here because even though I'm new at this I find my brews to be much more gratifying than the commercial beers I'm used to drinking, so I need less. Also everything I've brewed so far have been hopped beers, and even though I enjoy them, my taste buds can only handle one or two at the most before being overwhelmed.

I'm also conscious of the weight gain potential, so I also am trying to practice a little self-discipline.

I anticipate drinking more in the summer though, and I need to find a few lighter, crisp session beers to brew.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 02:33 AM   #22
Walking_Target
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts

If you're the kind of guy like me who wants a beer at the end of the day (and usually has one, and one only), but does not frequently purchase beer due to odd working hours or etc. This can also be affected by economics, as in, i was a student about three years ago, and I'd drink almost exclusively my own homebrew, because for the price of a 24 I'd be able to crank out a batch of really good dark ale that'd last me three to six months.

If you fit the above, then yes, you will drink more.

Not because you're suddenly in a wealth of brew and can afford to toss a few back, but because you now have the stock on hand to go from "Y'know, a beer would go good with this pizza" to "Hold on, gotta grab one from the fridge"

Your consumption will almost definitely rise a little bit to start, but shouldn't be more than having a beer on a night you were too lazy to drive to the store.

Old 01-18-2013, 03:11 AM   #23
Rbeckett
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 63 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 29