HBT 2014 Big Giveaway - 4/10 Re-Draw Winners Posted!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Does a brew always require sugar/DME?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2011, 05:53 PM   #1
BeerChimp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Does a brew always require sugar/DME?

Hi, please excuse what is likely to be a stupid and noob-tastic question.

I'm very new at this, and have only done a couple of brews not from kits.

I wanted to try John J Palmer's Port O'Palmer recipe, but couldn't find any reference to sugar or DME in the recipe, I wasn't sure if all the sugars the brew needed can be find in the various malt extract and malted grains, or if it needed an additional amount of sugar/spray malt?

The recipe is: 3kg malt extract (liquid); 227g crystal malt; 227g chocolate malt; 113g black patent malt (and hops).

Should I add 1kg of sugar to this as well?

Would appreciate any help or explanation before I go and brew 40 pints of exceptionally alcoholic/alcohol-free beer!!!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2011, 05:57 PM   #2
hoppymonkey
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Only add sugar if you want to thin out the beer and make it higher in alcohol. All the sugars needed are i nthe malt extract and little from the crystal malt.

Old 09-25-2011, 06:02 PM   #3
Paradigm
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Well the reason you aren't finding a need for DME is because you're using LME. Which is DME and water.

Old 09-25-2011, 06:04 PM   #4
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc

Recipes 

Liked 2657 Times on 1602 Posts
Likes Given: 3444

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoppymonkey View Post
Only add sugar if you want to thin out the beer and make it higher in alcohol. All the sugars needed are i nthe malt extract and little from the crystal malt.
Some recipes/styles call for it, like Belgians. But unless a recipe calls for it, you don't really want to add any.