The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Does a boil have to be 60 minutes long?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2014, 01:34 PM   #1
Knutz38
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Does a boil have to be 60 minutes long?

I'm new to this so bear with me.
I've gotten 2 kits, each from a different retailer - Midwest and More Beer. Both call for 60 min boils, but here's the thing. The Hop additions on both these kits are very late in the boil - in the last 15, 10 and 5 minutes.
This being the case, does the boil have to be so long, unless the extract takes that long to "break" or be conditioned.

Thanks for replies

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2014, 01:38 PM   #2
Quaker
Beer Missionary
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 47 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 10

No need for more than 15 minutes with extract.

My father says, "hobbies are supposed to cost money".

Old 01-06-2014, 01:39 PM   #3
unionrdr
Wannabe author
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 1826 Times on 1609 Posts
Likes Given: 1295

If the kit recipe has a bittering addition,then yes,you need to do the whole 60 minute boil. If it's using pre-hopped extract,usually bittering,then you can do a shorter boil for the flavor & aroma additions. But never boil pre-hopped extract for any length of time,as it changes the hop profiles designed into it.

Old 01-06-2014, 03:32 PM   #4
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 899 Times on 600 Posts
Likes Given: 26