*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Do you remove(filter) the hops?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2011, 01:02 AM   #1
Thelostcircuit
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Do you remove(filter) the hops?

I am a home brewing noob. I mad my third batch of beer from a kit that had me add pelitized hops in the boil. That is the first time I have had to do this. My question is should I have filtered out the hops before transferring it to the fermenter? from what i have read it seems to be a fifty fifty think some do and some done. What are the pros and cons?

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-01-2011, 01:08 AM   #2
Celticway
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

You want to try to remove as much as possible. This is because you will pull out grassy, nasty flavors if it sits in the fermentor. Dry hopping is a different story all together and is when you add new hops to the fermenter for 7 days after fermentation is complete to add a nice aroma and some flavor.

How do you transfer from your kettle to your fermentor?

Old 09-01-2011, 01:09 AM   #3
beerloaf
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Some people do and some don't. I started to a while back just to keep the trub down. Recently built a hop spider as well so I don't burn them fingertips anymore.

beerloaf

"Look, let me explain something to you. I'm not Mr. Lebowski. You're Mr. Lebowski. I'm the Dude. So that's what you call me. That or His Dudeness... Duder... or El Duderino, if, you know, you're not into the whole brevity thing." -The Dude

Old 09-01-2011, 01:10 AM   #4
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4507 Times on 3278 Posts
Likes Given: 883

Quote:
Originally Posted by Celticway View Post