Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Do tannins go away?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-14-2009, 01:34 AM   #1
GuitarBob
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Do tannins go away?

If you accidently extract a bunch of tannins into your beer does it ever condition out? Right now my beer is tasting bitter and grainy.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2009, 02:49 AM   #2
Donner
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

tannins are usually astringent. How old is this beer of yours? Bitter and grainy make me think it's something other than tannins, but i'm no expert. I'm sure someone will be along to give you the correct answer.

Old 05-14-2009, 02:55 AM   #3
the_bird
10th-Level Beer Nerd
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 354 Times on 292 Posts
Likes Given: 95

How/why do you think you extracted a bunch of tannins?

Young beer always tastes like crap relative to properly-aged beer. Bitterness tends to mellow.

"I'm kind of toasted. But I looked at my watch and it's only 6:30 so I can't stop drinking yet." - Yooper's Bob
"Brown eye finally recovered after the abuse it endured in Ptown last weekend, but it took almost a full week." - Paulie
"no, he just doesn't speak 'stupid'. i, however, am fluent...." - motobrewer
"... I'll go both ways." - Melana

That'll do, Pigley. That'll do.

Old 05-14-2009, 02:55 AM   #4
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2711 Times on 1629 Posts
Likes Given: 3484

How long has the beer been in the bottles? Honestly I have noticed a lit of green (young) beers, especially all grain, or partial mashes taste like grainy ice tea until they have carbed and conditioned for a few weeks.

Like my snazzy new avatar? Get Sons of Zymurgy swag, here, and brew with the best.