Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Dis stuff don't taste so good

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-20-2011, 02:45 AM   #1
orleans
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Dis stuff don't taste so good

I'm new at this. I started with several (5) Coopers hopped extracts. Didn't buy the complete kit as per my local brew shop advice. Just the extract then used DME. They turned out great. About a week in the primary then straight to the bottle. Gave them a couple of weeks then down the hatch. Of course the beer became better as time went along. (3 12oz a day is my habit) So I decided to up the ante a little and bought a Brewers Best and a few More beer kits. Extract + flavoring grains+hops. 2 weeks in the primary, 2 in secondary then to the bottle. When I checked the gravity I always give it a little taste. The Coopers, while not tasty was still reasonable and I could get an idea of what I had a cookin'. On tasting the others, both the More Beer and 1 Brewers Best the taste of the hops was over powering, green and nasty. I opened one of the young bottles (10 days) as I was worried. Had to pour it out. So, all of that to ask this. Will my little friends (yeasties) fix this with time? Do they eat hops? Did I do something wrong? The beer was not as clear as the coopers either. How much longer does it take extract+hops beer to finish? thanks, jm

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2011, 03:05 AM   #2
moorerm04
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Just relax and give them time... A minimum of 3 weeks. Remember green beer can be funky! I had a BB kit red ale that tasted like crap after it had been in the bottle for a week, but with time it got better and better. 4-5 weeks and the stuff was awesome!

Old 10-20-2011, 03:20 AM   #3
MrManifesto
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 4

time heals all wounds.

Old 10-20-2011, 03:25 AM   #4
mikebowman
Recipes