Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Definition of batch size?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2010, 01:43 AM   #1
jaobrien6
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Definition of batch size?

Is "batch size" the volume that you plan to end up with in the primary? I've been reading some recipes online, found Jamil's Red Rocket clone and it's a 6 gallon batch size. I always aim for 5.5 into the primary to allow for 5 when it's kegged. I know it's a total noob question, but I just want to make sure I scale appropriately for my equipment if I give this recipe a try.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2010, 02:15 AM   #2
ajf
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 99 Times on 93 Posts
Likes Given: 39

Yes, the batch size is generally considered to be the volume you end up with in the primary.
When Jamil gets a bit more experience, he will find that he doesn't really need to make a 6g batch to end up with 5g in keg or bottles.

-a.

There are only 10 types of people in this world. Those that understand binary, and those that don't.

Old 04-19-2010, 02:25 AM   #3
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4471 Times on 3253 Posts
Likes Given: 870

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajf View Post
When Jamil gets a bit more experience, he will find that he doesn't really need to make a 6g batch to end up with 5g in keg or bottles.

-a.
LOL

I usually go with 5.5 in the fermenter, and get pretty close to 5 gallons in the keg. I've been trying to increase my recipes slightly to get a full 5 gallons in the keg, but I usually forget until about 1/2 through the boil.