Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > decrease carbonation if you use secondary fermintation?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2007, 09:59 PM   #1
thenatibrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default decrease carbonation if you use secondary fermintation?

i was wondering if you used secondary ferm. will that cause a decrease in carbonation? or will it take longer to carbonate in the bottle? i figured if i rack to secondary i am leaving behind or filtering out more yeast, and the yeast causes the carbonation. so any advance would be great!!!

-unknown monk

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2007, 10:07 PM   #2
Lord Sterrock Hammerson 8
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

You should have plenty of yeast to get the job done just depends on how much priming sugar you add.
I am new to this so wait for someone more experienced to post.

Priming and Bottling
Priming Chart
Carbonation Calculator
Bobby_M - How To Bottle Your Brew Video

Old 02-18-2007, 10:25 PM   #3
Blender

Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

There are enough yeast in suspension to provide for adequate carbonaton. It generally takes between 2-3 weeks at around 70° or so.

Gary

Old 02-19-2007, 01:30 AM   #4
thenatibrewer
Recipes 

so in other words be patient? i tried another one saturday (12 days in bottles at around 70f, possible a little less) it seem to have a little more carbonation than the one i tried a wk early. hopefully it will work out. i just read another thread that the guy was saying he adds some rehydrated dry "generic yeast" to his bottling primer. he says it works out great for him. any thoughts?

-unknown monk

Old 02-19-2007, 02:14 AM   #5
Yuri_Rage
Gritty.
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 607 Times on 376 Posts
Likes Given: 54

12 days is pretty early to expect your beer to be fully conditioned/carbonated. As you're finding, it's usually drinkable at two weeks, but much better after 3 or 4.