Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Is it dead?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2011, 12:01 AM   #1
go_inbroke
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Is it dead?

Put a batch in the fermentor 5 days ago. (Multi-Grain Red with Safale S-04) OG @ 1.057. Little activity through the airlock, but foam on the wort for 3 days. Now no activity. Took a reading and it came in @ 1.02. I'm used to 1.01 after at least two weeks. Question: Should I wait and take another reading in 10 days or re-pitch?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-26-2011, 12:07 AM   #2
Cimerian
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I'm pretty new to brewing but honestly I would not even be looking at it at the 5 day mark. If it were me I would be asking like you are but would wait until at least 10 days to take a FG on it and wouldn't do anything with until at least 14 days. The IPA I have in Ferment has been in 14 days and I haven't even touched it. I'll take a gravity this Thursday and may bottle this coming Saturday if it's ready.

Old 09-26-2011, 12:10 AM   #3
go_inbroke
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

This is my 5th batch and I am worried because of the lack of airlock activity. I have always had good, aggressive, yeast activity.

Old 09-26-2011, 12:13 AM   #4
Captain Damage
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 81 Times on 69 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Airlock activity is not a reliable indicator of the progress of the fermentation. I'll repeat that for emphasis: Airlock activity is not a reliable indicator of the progress of the fermentation.

Leave it alone. Don't take a reading or otherwise touch it until it's been 2 weeks.

Stop using so much caramel malt. Your beer will thank you.
(yes, Carapils is a caramel malt...so is Special B)

FERMENTING

BOTTLED
pujwI HIq Mild Ale
KPA Khitomer Pale Ale

Old 09-26-2011, 12:26 AM   #5
go_inbroke
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts